return to Home page    Cleveland and the Freeing of Soviet Jewry     

 1966 - Cleveland Proclaims Sabbath of Dedication for Soviet Jewry

Jewish leaders gather at City Hall to see Mayor Ralph Locher sign a proclamation designating December 9 - 11, 1966 as SABBATH OF DEDICATION FOR SOVIET JEWRY.
Seated (left-right) are Rabbi Rudolph Rosenthal of B'nai Jeshurun - Heights Temple (Conservative); Rabbi Israel Porath, head of the Orthodox Rabbinic Council; Ralph  Locher, mayor of Cleveland, and Abe Silverstein, head of NASA and  honorary  leader of the Cleveland Council on Soviet Anti-Semitism.   Standing (left to right) are Rabbi Daniel Litt of B'nai Israel - the West Temple (Reform); David Meyers, president of the Jewish Community Federation; Robert Silverman, chair of the subcommittee on Soviet Anti-Semitism; and Bennett Yanowitz, the chair of Federation's Community Relations Committee.


Top of Page        Table of Contents      CJH Home